Tuesday, May 27, 2014

Photos of Swearing-In ceremony of all Prime Ministers of India

1. Lord Mountbatten swearing-in Jawahar Lal Nehru as Prime Minster in 1947

2. Dr Rajendra Prasad swearing-in Jawahar Lal Nehru as Prime Minister after first election on January 26, 1950

3. Dr Rajendra Prasad swearing-in Jawahar Lal Nehru as PM on April 10, 1962

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru (left) taking the oath of office administered in Hindi as Prime Minister of India (3rd term) by the President Dr Rajendra Prasad at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi on April 10, 1962.

4. Gulzarilal Nanda was an interim Prime Minister twice - after Nehru's death and after Shastry's death. So, he is the 2nd Prime Minister.

5. Dr S.Radhakrishnan swearing in Lalbahadur Shastry as 3rd Prime Minister on June 9th 1964.

6. Dr S.Radhakrishnan swearing in Indira Gandhi as 4th Prime Minister on January 24, 1966.

7. B.D.Jatti swearing in Morarji Desai as 5th Prime Minister on March 24, 1977.

8. Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy administered oath to Chaudury Charan Singh as 6th Prime Minister on July 28, 1979.
(I don't have photo of swearing-in of Charan Singh as PM. The following photo is swearing-in of Charan Singh as Union Cabinet Minister on March 26, 1977)

Swearing-in Ceremony: Acting President of India B D Jatti administering the oath of office and secrecy to Charan Singh as Union Cabinet Minister, at Rashtrapati Bhawan in New Delhi on March 26, 1977.

9. Giani Zail Singh swearing-in Rajiv Gandhi as 7th Prime Minister on October 31, 1984.

10. R.Venkatraman swearing-in V.P.Singh as 8th Prime Minister on December 2, 1989.

11. R.Venkataraman swearing-in Chandra Shekar as 9th Prime Minister on November 10, 1990

President of India, R Venkataraman administering the oath of office to Chandra Shekhar as the ninth Prime Minister of India, in New Delhi on November 10, 1990.

12. R.Venkatarama swearing-in P.V.Narasimha Rao as 10th Prime Minister on June 21, 1991.

13. Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma swearing-in Atal Bihari Vajapayee as 11th Prime Minister on May 16, 1996.

 14. Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma swearing-in H.D.Deve Gowda as 12th Prime Minister on June 1, 1996.

 15. Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma swearing-in I.K.Gujral as 13th Prime Minister on April 21, 1997.

16. K.R.Narayanan swearing in Atal Bihari Vajapayee as Prime Minister on March 19, 1998.

 17. Dr A.P.J.Abdul Kalam swearing-in Manmohan Singh as 14th Prime Minister on May 22, 2004.

18. Pratibha Patil Shekawat swearing in Manmohan Singh as Prime Minister on May 22, 2009

19. Pranab Mukharjee swearing-in Narendra Modi as 15th Prime Minister on 26th May, 2014.


Lakshminarasimhan said...

Nice collection. Please check the year of the 17th picture. Should it not be 2004?

Narendra Kumar S.S said...


Thanks for pointing out the mistake.
I have made the necessary correction.


Mukesh Dave said...

After Atal Bihari Vajpayeeji's second time swearing in he also
was sworn in 1999 for the full term.
He was 3 time prime minister, as Nehruji.

Narendra Kumar S.S said...

Hello Mukhesh,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.
You are right - Vajapayee was sworn in as PM three times.
But, Nehru was sworn in 4 times.